Operating under Internal Revenue Service rules as a private foundation, The Frist Foundation is governed by its board of directors:

William R. Frist
Chairman, The Frist Foundation, and Principal, Frist Capital, LLC

Peter F. Bird Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Frist Foundation

Chuck Elcan

Lauren Elcan

Patricia Frist Elcan

Jennifer Frist

Julie D. Frist

Thomas F. Frist III
Principal, Frist Capital, LLC

Emeritus board members

Thomas F. Frist Jr.
Chairman Emeritus, HCA Holdings, Inc.

Patricia C. Frist

Kenneth L. Roberts
President Emeritus, The Frist Foundation

Did you know?

The foundation's Awards of Achievement are the centerpiece of the largest nonprofit awards ceremony in the nation.

Former banker Ken Roberts headed The Frist Foundation from 1992 to 2002.

Much of the original Art Deco design of The Frist Art Museum was carefully preserved by Tuck Hinton architects in the Center's restoration.